Unsupported Screen Size: The viewport size is too small for the theme to render properly.



The Accreditation Council of Trinidad and Tobago (ACTT)

The Accreditation Council of Trinidad and Tobago (ACTT) is a statutory body established by Chapter 39:06 as the principal body in Trinidad and Tobago responsible for the quality assurance of post secondary and tertiary level institutions, programmes and awards. The Act creating the Council was proclaimed in 2004, and the organisation was launched in November 2005. The council currently operates three (3) offices. Its head office is located in Port of Spain, with sub offices in San Fernando and Tobago.




ACTT’s key functions include:


Governed by a Board of Directors and staffed by a cadre of highly skilled professionals, ACTT is a key player in the development of the quality tertiary education sector in Trinidad and Tobago. ACTT assures the quality and integrity of higher education through the registration, recognition and accreditation of institutions and programmes. To date, ACTT has:

  • registered 52 institutions
  • registered 1 local awarding body
  • recognised 18 foreign awarding bodies/institutions
  • recognised approximately 400 transnational programmes
  • issued over 15,000 Statements on Recognition
  • approved 173 locally developed higher education programmes
  • accredited 13 institutions
  • 4 institutions currently holding the status of candidate for accreditation


ACTT is recognised regionally and internationally for its commitment to quality. It is affiliated with several international agencies for quality assurance in higher education including:

  • International Network for Quality Assurance Agencies in Higher Education (INQAAHE)
  • Caribbean Area Network for Quality Assurance in Tertiary Education (CANQATE)
  • University Council of Jamaica (UCJ)
  • Barbados Accreditation Council (BAC)
  • Council of Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA)
  • Commonwealth of Learning (COL)
  • North Central Association Higher Learning Commission (NCA-HLC)
  • National Recognition and Information Centre (NARIC)
  • International Association of Universities (IAU)
  • American Society for Quality (ASQ)
  • Educational Credential Evaluators (ECE)
  • Scottish Qualifications Authority (SQA)
  • The Quality Assurance Agency for Higher Education (QAA)
  • American Council for Education (ACE)
  • Council for Adult and Experiential Learning (CAEL)
  • Office of Qualifications and Examinations Regulation (Ofqual)


As a quality assurance agency ACTT is committed to ‘learning from best practice and creating next practice’. This mantra underpins all of ACTT’s policies, procedures and projects. ACTT is currently in the process of:

  • reviewing its criteria, standards, processes, procedures and documentation for its core services
  • developing a National Qualifications and Credit Framework (NQCF) that will provide the basis for the creation of a seamless education and training system
  • developing an enterprise wide data management system
  • developing criteria and guidelines for ensuring programme articulation and student transfers within the system at the national and regional levels, and to facilitate the free movement of skills within the Caribbean Single Market and Economy (CSME).
  • developing criteria and guidelines for the quality assurance of:
    • short courses
    • online and distance learning education